Researchers have decisively proven that an alleged 15th century Viking map of the U.S. is totally bogus

Sep 15th

Researchers this month declared that much-debated map of the U.S. that some had claimed was drawn by Vikings prior to Columbus's journey here, is unquestionably a forgery:

Acquired by Yale in the mid-1960s, the purported 15th-century map depicts a pre-Columbian "Vinlanda Insula," a section of North America's coastline southwest of Greenland. While earlier studies had detected evidence of modern inks at various points on the map, the new Yale analysis examined the entire document's elemental composition using state-of-the-art tools and techniques that were previously unavailable.

The analysis revealed that a titanium compound used in inks first produced in the 1920s pervades the map's lines and text.

"The Vinland Map is a fake," said Raymond Clemens, curator of early books and manuscripts at Yale's Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library, which houses the map. "There is no reasonable doubt here. This new analysis should put the matter to rest."

Fans of Christopher Columbus and Amerigo Vespucci are no doubt rejoicing over this news, though the Vikings still retain their historical credit for discovering Greenland, wherever that is.


P.S. Now check out our latest video: "The Media's Constant Lies Are Fueling This Chaos" 👇

Keep up with our latest videos — Subscribe to our YouTube channel!

Comments

There are 57 comments on this article.

Ready to join the conversation? Start your free trial today.

Access comments and our fully-featured social platform, completely free of charge.

Sign up Now
App screenshot

You must signup or login to view or post comments on this article.